Thursday , March 4 2021

Google Maps always knows where you are, by deactivating history. | Technology and science | news



Opening Google Maps, the program will automatically record your location. In addition, you can guess your home addresses and work based on the number of sites you visit. And it will continue to happen, even if you deactivate the location history, reports BBC.

"This is to improve the user experience," the company is justified. Ensures that it offers "strict control" so that its users can "delete their history at any time". Although a post published on Google Blog for a couple of weeks, a step-by-step guide to how to delete entries in a database.

But delete the space Google Maps It is much more complicated. When you look for an address or create a route, the company takes that information into account and saves it in its own database. Everything you are looking for and your daily travels are stored in Location History.

In addition to "improving user experience," these advertisers use their data to monitor the effectiveness of their advertising on the Internet, which has been operating since 2014.

According to the British security researcher Graham Cluley, thinking that Google Maps it does not register user actions by deactivating Location History is an error. The claim is based on an Associated Press investigation that caused the US legislators to accuse Google of violating its users' privacy.

Google says it offers "clear descriptions of its tools." And now there is a process to gradually delete user records of the company database. But it will be only next year Google Maps will have the same choice, said Eric Miraglia, Product Manager.

"Accessing privacy controls directly on the Google products you use on a daily basis is one of the things we constantly work to keep everyone safe," he added. Your data will now remain on Google Records.

-Save my data-

You can check what he knows Google Maps from your Google Account in the "Your personal data: folder" Google Maps"It informs all your movements in this application." Clearing your search history does not help, but go to what the company calls "Web & Applications."

Google says that in the section above, it shows you everything you do on Google. This is a feature that needs to be disabled. To do this, go to your Google Account and select "Account Activity Control" and deactivate the feature.


Source link